Lake Sylvan

My neighbor, Susan, has land on Lake Sylvan and Lake Tamarack.  Walking down the road to her property is as beautiful as any state park trail.  I finished a winter view of her yard a couple days ago and thought I’d pair it with a summer view from last year.  The winter scene is dominated by blues and browns, the play of light and shadow is dominant.  I love the color of shadows in the winter and the crisp air on a sunny day, making the vision sharp and hard edged.  In the summer, the view seems cushioned in greens and blues.  There are a lot of red pines overlooking the lake and I tried to indicate those needles in the striped lines within squares and also the * form, which is a simplification of viewing the needle cluster straight on.

Mary Lingen

 
Lake Sylvan 5, 24X36, 2017

Lake Sylvan 5, 36X48″, 2016

About mlingen

Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.