Perspective

lake-hattie-1324x362016
Lake Hattie 13, 24X36″, Oil on canvas, 2016
The above painting is of a nearby lake in November, not too long before the first snowfall.  The sky was clear and cold and the sun cast long shadows. There was no wind so the lake acted as a mirror.  It was beautiful and peaceful, which is how I see the painting.  Just as valid are the very different responses to the piece by my friends.  One said “it’s spooky”, and another thought “very austere”.  I like that about art, that how one sees something is as individual as how one paints. I’ve also been struck by the many different “faces” of a landscape subject.  This is the thirteenth painting of Lake Hattie.  The lake has as many moods as I do!

About mlingen

Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.