Crossings Paths

I’m looking forward to exhibiting with my good friend, Linda Deg Lee, at the Banfill-Locke Center for the Arts.  Linda and I exhibited together a few times in group shows, but this will be our first two person show. The show opens on Saturday, February 28, from 6-8 pm.  The center is at 6666 East River Road, in Fridley, Minnesota.

In this show, I’m focusing on my “path” paintings.  This theme started cropping up in my art about six years ago, but in the last couple years, it’s almost been an obsession.  There’s probably a lot of reasons for this focus.  Visually, it’s a practical choice, given that woodlands are a favorite subject.  Paths allow for more light.  The trees respond by leaning into the opening, reaching for that extra sun, creating stripes of shadow along the path.  Paths provide access to a more hidden world— a beautiful, private, sheltered space.

Here’s a couple path paintings that I made specifically for this show,  Taylor’s Path and Border Path:
18.Taylor's Path            17.Border Path

Mary

About mlingen

Artist
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.